36th Annual International Wildlife Film Festival Award Winners


The 36th Annual International Wildlife Film Festival is thrilled to announce this year’s award winners! Awards were presented at a First Friday ceremony on May 3rd at the Roxy Theater in Missoula, MT. The Missoula Community Foundation generously sponsored the evening’s festivities.

The 2013 IWFF Lifetime Achievement Award for Marine Conservation & Media was awarded to Howard & Michele Hall whose aquatic film work has dramatically expanded our understanding of ocean environments.


As filmmakers and as conservationists, their films and television programs are a testament to the ability of film to convey our understanding of the natural world. The Halls have received seven Emmy Awards and numerous other honors, and they have authored many books and articles about their incredible experiences diving in the world’s oceans.

The Halls have worked on IMAX® films including Into the Deep, Island of the Sharks, and Lost Worlds: Life In Balance. With MacGillivray Freeman Films, Howard photographed spectacular underwater sequences for the Academy Award® nominated film The Living Sea and more recently for Journey Into Amazing Caves. Coral Reef Adventure is the first time the talented pair has worked behind the camera and in front of it.

The IWFF also recognized Mateus Mutemba of the Gorongosa Restoration Project, as the recipient of the 2013 Hero Of The Year Award.


Mateus is the Park Administrator of Gorongosa National Park, and has been with the project for over six years. The rehabilitation of Gorongosa National Park in central Mozambique represents one of the great conservation opportunities in the world. Gorongosa is a region of magnificent and critical species, tremendous diversity, and ecological features found nowhere else on earth.

Mateus’ grandfather was one of the founders of the independence movement in Mozambique. Continuing the family tradition of honoring his country’s heritage, Mateus works closely with The Carr Foundation and the government of Mozambique to protect and restore the ecosystem of Gorongosa and to develop an ecotourism industry to benefit local communities.



Lifetime Achievement Award

Natural history filmmakers and photographers Howard and Michele Hall

Conservationist Hero of The Year Award

Mateus Mutemba, for his extraordinary work with the Gorongosa Restoration Project

The Richard Matthews Newcomer Award

Tenzin Phuntsho and The Bhutan Foundation, for the standout new director of                    The Yak Herder’s Son 

Save Our Seas® Award

Hot Tuna (2012)

Rick Rosenthal

This is the story of the tuna, one of the fastest, most powerful and most intelligent fishes in the sea. It’s also the most highly prized, worth more than its weight in silver, and is being fished to the brink of extinction.

Best Cinematography – a tie

The Last Lions

Dereck and Beverly Joubert, 2011

 From the lush wetlands of Botswana’s Okavango Delta comes the tale of a lion mother who must battle against the odds to protect her cubs.

Best Cinematography – a tie

Siberian Tiger Quest

Sooyong Park, 2012

In a remote forest wilderness in Russia, one man dedicated five years of his life to living in immense solitude in order to capture on film for the first time multiple families of Siberian tigers. Before he departs from this demanding task, he shows another filmmaker his art of observation and tracking, so that these amazing creatures can continue to be filmed. 

Best Score

Kangaroo Dundee

Andrew Graham-Brown and Tom Mustill, 2013

This is the story of an Australian outbacker who founded a baby orphan kangaroo center to prepare these marsupials for the hazards of the wild.

Best Editing

The Last Lions
Dereck and Beverly Joubert, 2011

Best Sound Design

The Last Lions
Dereck and Beverly Joubert, 2011

Best Film

The Last Lions

Dereck and Beverly Joubert, 2011

Best in Category: Presenter/Host

Siberian Tiger Quest

Chris Morgan, 2012

Best in Category: Human/Wildlife Interaction

Siberian Tiger Quest

Mike Birkhead and Joe Loncraine, 2012

Best in Category: Environmental

Wild Things

Daniel Hinerfeld and Molly O’Brien, 2013

Best in Category: POV and Conservation

Battle for Elephants

John Heminway, 2013

Best in Category: Television Program Over $500,000

Cold Warriors: Wolves and Buffalo

Jeff Turner, 2013

Best in Category: TV Program: $250,000-$500,000

An Original DUCKumentary

Ann Johnson Prum, 2012

Best in Category: Television Program Under $250,000

Hunting the Ice Whales

Max Quinn, 2012

Best in Category: TV Series

Kangaroo Dundee

Andrew Graham-Brown and Tom Mustill, 2013

Best in Category: Theatrical Release

The Last Lions

Dereck and Beverly Joubert, 2011

Best in Category: Independent

Silver of the Sea

Are Pilskog, 2012


The IWFF preliminary judging process is a rigorous and thorough approach to programming the best films for our event. The festival relies on local and regional community members to participate in preliminary judging panels. Over the course of each two-day panel session, judges screen and discuss film entries, and determine as a group which films will pass forward to the final judging panel.


The International Wildlife Film Festival appreciates the hard work and thoughtful consideration of this year’s esteemed panel of festival judges:

Susannah Smith, Conservationist

Martin Hammond, Media Consultant, MJH Media

Judith Curran, Producer/Filmmaker, NHNZ

Antonia Wolf, Wildlife Photographer, Independent

David Wright, Cinematographer, Planet Earth Pictures

(Photo credits: Slikati Photography)

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.